Seasons of sadness

Sadness can be such a misunderstood emotion. It isn’t always a quickly passing emotion; sometimes it lingers with varying degrees of intensity.

I feel that often it makes people uncomfortable to be around a person experiencing a prolonged period of sadness. I think that is because there are some misconceptions about how we experience sadness. I would like to address those.

1.) If I’m sad,  then I cannot be simultaneously happy about something.  This is simply not true.  Even when I’m experiencing a time of  sadness in my life,  I can laugh at jokes, be happy for your accomplishments, be happy that I have other blessings, but I’m still sad about whatever it is that is hurting.  I can even praise God and still be hurting. In fact,  sometimes praising God makes me feel the hurt even more intensely. But this is okay too. He is right there in the midst of the pain.
2.) If someone is sad,  you HAVE to cheer them up. This is also not true.  “cheering someone up” has its place as long as it doesn’t become “feel better so I feel better”. Allow someone in a season of sadness to have their sad time without reproach of any kind.  Especially the whole “you have x, y, z so be happy even if you don’t have e, f, or g. Ask if they want alone time or even just to sit quietly with them.  But allow them to feel the sadness, because sometimes life just hurts.
3.) Pain and sadness do not bring glory to God. Again,  this is not true.  God used and felt the greatest pain ever felt in this universe when Jesus died on the Cross. Jesus wept at the tomb of Lazarus. God keeps the tears of His saints. We are not just trophies that God shows off so we need to keep ourselves all shiny.  No,  we are human.  With emotions. God made us to feel. If He wanted happy robots, He could have and would have made them. 

When it comes right down to it, being sad is really quite complicated. What I’m trying to say basically is that it is okay to be sad.  It is okay for others to be sad.  Life brings with it a lot of pain. The curse of sin brings hurts in so many ways. Let God do the supernatural healing of the heart. 

Leave a Reply

